centered image

centered image

Changing How We Think About Difficult Patients

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Feb 21, 2022.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

An excerpt from Changing How We Think About Difficult Patients: A Guide for Physicians and Healthcare Professionals.

After I finished my residency in EM and started working as an attending physician, I realized I had a problem. I believe a lot of you have the same problem. Some of our patients are so angry, oppositional, and non-compliant that we get angry and frustrated. We become cynical as we start to think, “nothing I do can help this person.” We start to feel exhausted and burned out. I researched the problem from the side of the patients and the physician. I read the literature. I wrote a lecture about it in which I suggested some solutions to our residents in training. I expanded that lecture into a book that has just been published by the American Association for Physician Leadership.

You don’t have to change your job and you don’t have to leave the profession that you worked so hard to get into. You actually have to change the way that you think about your difficult patients. It sounds like wishful thinking, I know, but you can do it.

[​IMG]

All of us have adopted a very negative attitude towards our patients. It’s not really our fault because human doctors naturally have a very suspicious and skeptical nature. Our cavemen ancestors had to be on the lookout about lions and bears lurking outside their caves. We are taught to be on the lookout for danger in the form of urgent Zebra diagnoses and dramatic deceptions. On top of all that, we hear our senior residents and attendings loosely tossing about derogatory names for our patients like gomers or dirtballs. Everyone in the nurses’ stations and the breakrooms mocks their patients and tells stories to lighten the mood.