centered image

Connecting Health Care, Voting, And Our Communities

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Sep 14, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

It has been eight years since I registered patients to vote in the Bronx. I remember the clinic, nestled in a busy commercial neighborhood with its modest windowfront facade. Inside, the flyer was posted everywhere. Among quilts of signs and reminders, it vied for attention with its large block letter logo, “I VOTE, I COUNT.” In the waiting room, our team approached patients to ask, “Are you registered to vote?”.

I was a college intern for the clinic-led voter registration project, spearheaded by physicians. The effort was non-partisan and effective, registering almost 90 percent of eligible voters.

It was an experience that not only sparked my interest in medicine but demonstrated the power of local mobilization. Patients want to vote. But they are besieged by environments that erode opportunities for civic engagement and health. Registering patients to vote in a neighborhood with limited transportation, language barriers, food deserts – a neighborhood in one of the most historically impoverished urban counties in the country – was a small, but tangible way to empower residents.

That summer, I learned that physicians, if they are to achieve patient health, must have meaningful impact beyond the walls of an exam room. Not in a manner that assumes we know best for communities, but through solutions forged in partnership, elevating the patients we serve. Dr. Manisha Sharma, at the time a family medicine resident and leader of the project, would say, “Our communities are capable.”

Although physicians make an enormous sacrifice for patient care in clinics and hospitals, medical care accounts for only a small fraction of the modifiable factors that contribute to health outcomes. The rest lies, by and large, in social determinants.