centered image

Could This Patient Have Been Saved?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Jan 31, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

Wiley Boynton is dead. I first heard the news when Katie, a colleague, called me on my cell phone. Wiley had been taken to the hospital with a knife wound.

I asked her right away: “Self-inflicted?”

“I think so,” she said.

A self-inflicted knife wound might be possible, I figure with someone like Wiley, considering the violent world he came out of. I know quite a lot about him.

Wiley is around 40 years old. Most of his adult life was spent in prison, some very hard prison time, too.

First thing in the morning, I call the coroner’s office, identified myself, and asked after Wiley.

“We’ve been trying to get you,” the man tells me.

They had found an appointment card on Wiley with my name on it. I inform the coroner I am a case manager for Wiley.

The body is about to undergo an autopsy, and the coroner tells me while Wiley has a knife wound to the abdomen, it is not deep. He had recently been diagnosed with cirrhosis of the liver (I hadn’t heard this), and if the knife penetrated the diseased liver, even slightly, that could be the cause of death. The coroner found frothing of the mouth — and that is often a sign of an overdose

When a death is ruled an overdose, an investigation often follows. Our agency makes you feel as if they are looking for a culprit, a determination of who screwed up.

The truth is, community mental health (what we are) is a loose operation at best.

Lots of medicine is floating around, and not so many checks and balances exist (labs and the like). Probably it has something to do with the people we serve — very poor, uneducated people and often people with serious physical ailments as well as severe mental illness.

We see much heart and lung disease. Diabetes abounds, hepatitis is rampant, and obesity and alcoholism are very common.