centered image

COVID-19 Has Shown Us That Americans Are Sicker Than We Thought

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Apr 7, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

The current news cycles concerning COVID-19 today are frightening. The media has portrayed COVID-19 as an amazingly deadly virus. And to some people, that is very true. But not to about 98% of those who are COVID-19 positive. The death rates still hover around 2%, and that is only out of the known – testing positive – cases. But who is the most vulnerable? If you read the news, this virus is seen to be branching out from mainly those over 65 years old, the immunocompromised, and those with known medical comorbidities. We’re now reading about seemingly healthy young people that are succumbing to COVID-19 and not leaving the hospitals.

I am a family nurse practitioner for over 15 years, and I have practiced mainly in internal medicine, cardiology, and endocrinology. I am nationally certified in diabetes care and education and sit on a national certification board. I researched lifestyle modifications and diabetes prevention at Stony Brook University for my doctorate degree. I have published articles in peer-reviewed journals, and most of my career has been spent studying Functional Medicine and disease prevention. It is safe to say I know a lot about health promotion.