centered image

COVID-19 Is A Different World For Our Most Vulnerable Citizens

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Apr 6, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I have been a physician for almost twenty years. The AIDS pandemic has been the greatest public health calamity of my career. Global Health Observatory data estimates that approximately 32 million people have died from HIV-related illnesses since the disease was formally identified in the early 80s. AIDS had already gained a firm foothold in the United States before the administration of the time publicly mentioned the name. Now, the emergence of viral epidemics such as SARS, H1N1, MERS-CoV, and COVID-19 presents a uniquely deadly threat. It is an unintended outcome that as our society becomes more globally connected, we put ourselves at greater risk for such novel infectious diseases.

Like most concerned citizens, I have listened to the White House COVID-19 Task Force briefings expecting to hear scientific facts, consistency, introspection, and clarity. What I hear, however, is a lack of sensitivity to the needs of the average American. Much time is spent praising each other for a job well done without admission of major system failures.

There remains a preferential testing bias that plays itself out over and over. Persons of privilege who likely do not meet defined CDC testing criteria somehow manage to be tested. The vast majority of Americans are morally responsible and do not wish to take up critical testing resources. They just want to know if they can hug an elderly parent or tuck their child into bed at night without exposing their loved ones to harm.