centered image

COVID-19 Through The Eyes Of My Kids

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Jul 18, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

Living the surreal experience of the COVID-19 pandemic challenges us on multiple levels. As a physician, I feel the responsibility to understand the magnitude of the situation and implement the best measures to protect my patients, trainees, my family, and myself. I experience the fear of getting sick or losing a loved one and the sadness and frustration of seeing millions of lives affected by illness, desperation, isolation, and death.

COVID-19 has challenged me even more in my role as a mother. Living the quarantine with two energetic boys has transformed motherhood into an emotional rollercoaster. The combination of COVID-19, taking care of two boys, and continuing working has, at times, been overwhelming, even while having the support of my wonderful husband. I have found myself being absorbed by the challenges, almost forgetting the positive things that still surround me.

“You’ll miss the best things if you keep your eyes shut”
    – Dr. Seuss

Luckily, my sons and Dr. Seuss brought me back to the positives, teaching me new lessons and reminding me of some others, allowing me to see COVID-19 through their naive and kind eyes.

Story 1:

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”
    – Dr. Seuss.