centered image

Dear Medical Community, It’s Time To Engage In The Climate Movement

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Sep 22, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

I recently finished my geriatric psychiatry rotation. As a medical student and aspiring psychiatrist, I had the opportunity to participate in the care of those suffering from acute psychosis, depression, bipolar disorder, depression, and more — many of whom were dealing with suicidal ideation. While an engaging experience, I am worried. The climate crisis puts these patients at great risk.

I’m a novice to climate advocacy. I’ve long considered myself to be someone who cares about the climate and environment and knows that we need to do something to reverse the damages humanity has inflicted on our only earth. However, I never dug into the specific facts and statistics to examine just how bad things are and never quite knew exactly what solutions are required. On top of that, our changing climate is a problem so big and so complicated and so abstract that we often don’t know where to start advocating — at least that’s how I feel. I didn’t know my place in the climate movement.

[​IMG]

I started my podcast in June. I knew there were many topics, such as racism and religion, that impact our health both directly and indirectly, and I wanted to create a show that would highlight them. I also knew I wanted to produce an episode on the intersection of health and climate change because I knew there was something there. I believed that there is a role for the medical field in the climate movement, but I didn’t know how to fill it.

I finally recorded that episode this past week with Dr. Gaurab Basu, a primary care physician and Instructor at Harvard Medical School. He’s also the Co-Director of the Center for Health Equity Education & Advocacy at Cambridge Health Alliance.