centered image

centered image

Dissection on cadavers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Pulce, Nov 25, 2013.

1. Pulce

Pulce Young Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Italy

Hi everyone! I'm new in this very interesting forum, so I'm sorry if I opened a thread in the wrong
    category.

I just wanted to know if in your country it is possible to handle with a dissection on cadavers in order to study better anatomy. In mine, which is Italy, it is illegal and you are punishable since you have broken the rules. Because of this, we can only study anatomy on atlas and books.
    I really would like to join a dissection since I think it is very important to understand in the best way possible how the human body is structured by the inside.

So, can you please specify the country where you are from and if it is possible to do dissections and how?
    Many thanks!

Add Reply

2. chrisna

chrisna Well-Known Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Indonesia
    I'm from Indonesia and here we student are prohibited to do dissection but we still studying directly from cadaver. our anatomy lecturer will dissected it first for us then we'll studying it by see and touch it. actually back then in Indonesia around 90's med student can do dissection by themselves but now are prohibited to prevent any mistakes in dissection such as accidentally cut off vessels or nerves or any important structures. And here when you go home and can't study with real cadaver there's an atlas anatomy from real cadaver pictures named Yokochi and it's very helping us to imagine the anatomy structure before lecture or when you prepare for exam

3. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt
    It is legal in Egypt for medical students and you can find cadavers in all medical schools.

Medical students in Egypt can buy real human skeleton for about 50$ so they can use it in studying anatomy at home.

4. andreea95

andreea95 Active member