centered image

Dissent In The Time Of COVID-19

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, May 13, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I’m a dissenter from way back.

Perhaps it’s my red hair and nearly 6-foot frame that made me always feel different. I never quite fit the mold as a good Southern girl. I’m too loud, too assertive, too much a leader.

I struggled with some of the belief systems around me, so I majored in religion and theology to frame my own conclusions in a foundation of education. I wrestled with my thoughts and sought diverse perspectives.

In medicine, I chose an uncommon field – med-peds – and pursed academic primary care after many had pushed me to do subspecialty training.

During residency, a perfect storm of events led me to food. That’s right, food. I discovered that my husband’s celiac disease that went undiagnosed for decades could be cured by food. I discovered that my mom’s breast cancer remission could be supported by food. I wondered why physicians learn so little about the leading preventable cause of death – a suboptimal diet.1,2 My family slowly and methodically changed everything about the way we ate.

I studied nutrition. Colleagues told me no one really wanted to change, and nutrition was a losing battle. I became a junior faculty member. I began to speak up, and I brought my own lunch. Colleagues and leaders initially teased me. It was mostly good-natured and sometimes a thin veneer covering their own concern that I was judging their choices.

I trained in culinary medicine and now, lifestyle medicine. I spoke of its value to anyone willing to listen. I was often the only voice in the room.