centered image

centered image

Doc Gets New Heart, Loses Residency In 5 Weeks

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Mahmoud Abudeif, Dec 24, 2019.

1. Mahmoud Abudeif

Mahmoud Abudeif Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

I was midway through my third year of residency when I became critically ill and was hospitalized. I thought I was going to die. But in the end, I received a heart transplant, as I described earlier in a Medscape interview.

[​IMG]
    When I was discharged, I felt reborn, and I was ready to get back to work. Then I heard rumors that my hospital was about to close.

Hahnemann University Hospital was founded in 1885 in Philadelphia, and rumors of its demise had been floating around for years. As an emergency medicine resident, I was always particularly proud of being "Hahnemann-trained." We didn't always have the best equipment and the newest technology. Our scrubs didn't always match. But we were trained well. "We were always doing more with less," a nurse aptly commented.

If you could work at Hahnemann, you could work anywhere.

Then the public hospital was purchased by American Academic Health System (AAHS), who said they had no other option but to close it down.

And that was that.

The day I returned to work—July 1, 2019—everything became official. The 574 hospital residents, including me, were about to be orphaned.

Some of us had houses or families in Philadelphia. I needed to stay in the area to continue follow-up care with my doctors. I needed health insurance, too. And I had to make sure I found a place quickly so that I would get those much-needed benefits as soon as possible.

At first, I didn't worry. If I could get through a transplant, I could get through anything, I thought. But then, I became angry. Why did this have to happen to me? Why did this have to happen to any of us?