centered image

Doctor Jobs and Gender Discrimination: Why Female Physicians Face the Toughest Challenges

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Hadeel Abdelkariem, Jul 9, 2018.

1. Hadeel Abdelkariem

Hadeel Abdelkariem Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

When I was in training, our medical school class was 50% female. I remember looking at our class and feeling just like everyone else on the first day of school. I didn’t stick out like a sore thumb because I was a female medical student. In fact, it was the national trend at the time for most medical school classes to be comprised of about 50% women. “Thank goodness! I belong here,” I thought on my first day. However, that was more of an illusion than a reality when it came to the actual treatment of us female physicians in medical training and practice. This is what the reality was for me (only a couple of years ago):

[​IMG]

1. Nurses on the wards often badmouthed assertive female physicians and called them “bitches.” Nurses questioned the competence and judgment of female physicians more often than male physicians. Assertive male physicians were just confident doctors. Assertive female physicians were “bitches.”

2. Other female physicians/other female students often tried to sabotage me. Many women who make it to medical school are fiercely competitive—and even more so with members of their own sex. As much as they try to hide it, many women in the medical field don’t want other women to succeed—plain and simple. We had old exams in med school (that we could study from), and I remember that a close female friend had old exams from 4 consecutive years. When one of my female classmates and I asked her if she had old exams for the Anatomy Unit, she said she never got them and no one has them. We found out from two male friends that they had both received a photocopy of those exams from her on the same day we had asked her for them.