centered image

Doctor Mom, Remember That It Is All worth It

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by dr.omarislam, Sep 29, 2017.

1. dr.omarislam

dr.omarislam Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]

Dear doctor mom,

I’ve been a physician for 13 years. For the past 7 years, I have also been a mom. A growing number of experiences made me decide to write this letter. I hope other moms don’t attack me. I do not mean to downplay their struggles, or to insinuate that doctor moms necessarily all have a harder time compared to other moms. I only focus on you, because I am like you, and I can relate to your struggles. I write about what I know.

Doctor mom, remember there was a time when women could not be admitted to medical school. Think of the struggles it took, for women like Elizabeth Blackwell and Rebecca Lee Crumpler to make their way and achieve their dreams.

Yes, doctor mom, there is no denying that you are a different kind of mom.

Consider those events at school, the realization that you need several weeks notice to make it to a Thanksgiving party, or Mother Goose rhyme recital, or even a Mother’s Day brunch.

Consider when you happened to have a day off work during the week, the shock and awe in your child’s voice when she says, “Mommy, you didn’t go to work today? What about the sick people?”

Consider the excitement in your child’s face, when he walks into the house after school bus drop off, and sees you home, at about 4 p.m. on a weekday.

Consider the phone calls and text pages that you have to answer at home sometimes, particularly when on call. Consider when you have to leave the house after dinner to go back to the hospital, instead of reading bedtime stories.

Consider the birthdays and other party invitations that come, and the realization that you are on call so the weekend is busy and kids may not be able to attend.