centered image

Doctors Are Killing Themselves, And Who Is Taking Notice?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Oct 8, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

I am a psychiatrist. My field has been marred with human rights violations and treatments that though well-meaning, did not yield the results that were intended. I have always been at the watch and helm of speaking out when I see gaps and places where my colleagues and I are called to do better. I have been treating patients for over 15 years now. I have remained silent but cannot any longer. The health and lives of my colleagues are at peril. Doctors are killing themselves, and who is taking notice?

As doctors, we are held to superhuman standards. Patients and society hold us there; we are the faces you see when you are at your lowest, the people you ask to help your family members and friends. We stand in places that others cannot imagine- holding your hand when you receive bad news, rejoicing at your triumphs. We are humans, and we suffer from depression, anxiety, bipolar, and so many of the other ailments described by the DSM-5. Our licensing boards, which vary state to state, ask us about psychiatric treatment every year when we renew our licenses. This provides not only stigma but makes us as a profession hesitant to seek treatment at times when we may need it the most.

[​IMG]

I have been there for my patients the day after I received a cancer diagnosis, and when I realized I had to have radiation treatment, my first question was, “Can I work? What if my diagnosis was not physical? What if I was diagnosed with depression – am I less able to treat my patients.” My experience, both personal and anecdotal, is that I am better able to understand the plight that is human, that is, pain and perseverance. However, that is not the stance taken by many licensing boards, and it must change.