centered image

Doctors Grieve Too: A lesson I did not learn in medical school

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Egyptian Doctor, Jan 16, 2016.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

“She is not yours to grieve.”

That statement, from another physician, hours after Ava died and as pent up tears rolled down my face, left me embarrassed and ashamed.

The message: She was my patient, not my child.

Never mind the amount of time and tenderness I had poured into her care during the month she spent in the pediatric ICU. I had no right to mourn her death. I am a doctor.

As a resident physician, I often spend long hours with patients and their families. I am the first face they see at dawn during pre-rounds and the last face at night during evening rounds. I am the first person the nurse calls when he is worried, and I am the last one left at the bedside once things have stabilized enough for the attending to get a few minutes of sleep and the nurse to check on his other patients. During these long and often arduous hours, I am able to form a unique bond with these families.

Because of this powerful connection, I play an important role in helping families begin the grieving process when a child dies. Literature, guidelines, and curricula are available to help navigate these devastating situations. There is a seemingly endless stream of advice regarding what to say and what not to say to a grieving family.

In stark contrast, however, is the lack of direction when it comes to coping with our own grief associated with the loss of a patient.

Instead, the hidden curriculum of medicine teaches us to distance ourselves and create protective boundaries. Feeling and displaying too much emotion is not only regarded as unprofessional; it is a sign of weakness.