centered image

Doctors Grow Up So Fast, Don’t They?

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Jun 2, 2017.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]

“Doctor, I need some orders for this patient. Can you do that soon so that I can get started?”

I was just bringing up a preterm infant to NICU due to concerns for maternal infections. Yes, it was July 3, 2016 — my first official day of residency where I was no longer “just” a medical student. I was a doctor!

My initial reaction was to look around me, thinking (and hoping) that the nurse was talking to some “other” doctor. I was terrified of putting these orders. Should I start the baby on amp and gent? If so, how much? Should I round up the dosing? Does he need IV fluids? When should I check a bilirubin? Should I put him on oxygen? All those not even running through my mind, thinking that I do not have to deal with this issue as this is not my patient and my “resident” has already thought about these issues.

But wait! I AM that resident now! I am that go-to person that nurses will come to with results. I am the person who will be “bothered” if the sample clotted or radiology has a critical read or his IV infiltrates! I am the deciding person who will adjust all small issues which I had seen my residents deal with in my short career of two years being in the hospital.