centered image

Doctors: Learn From This Personal Finance Writer’s Money Mistakes

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Nov 20, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

As a journalist, it feels weird to write about myself. But hopefully this can help you avoid the financial mistakes I’ve made. I gravitate toward personal finance writing — particularly for doctors — to correct my own financial ignorance. The stakes, unfortunately, are higher for doctors, who spend more time in school and accumulate more debt early in their careers, than they are for laypersons.

Our personal financial education is likely similar, though. Likely similar to you, nobody taught me this stuff. I had to seek out the information from friends and experts. Luckily, you don’t need to make the same errors I did. Learn from my 5 biggest money mistakes.

Blunder 1: Credit Card Debt

I graduated college in 2009, at the height of the Great Recession. Luckily, I found a paid internship at a newspaper, which turned into a job. I lived with mom and dad for two years, saving my money and living with minimal expenditures. Then, I moved out.

I saw this as some major milestone transition into adulthood. I thought one of the most adult things I could do would be to buy all new furniture for my apartment. Citi offered me a new credit card with 0% interest for 12 months. I thought, no problem, I can pay the costs off in time. Does this sound familiar, doc?

Of course, I had no actual idea if this were possible because I didn’t have a budget. I wasn’t accounting for the exorbitant rent on the brand new apartment I was splitting with a friend, the cost of weekend trips to New York City, groceries, utilities, etc. That credit card debt quickly became an albatross.