centered image

Does Your Child's Career Have to be in Medicine?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Apr 13, 2019.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

I gave birth to my oldest child in my second year of residency. That moment began my crash course in parenting. From changing diapers to pitching a baseball, he taught me techniques and survival skills I would use for years. I was a quick student in some ways: He only had to pee on me once. Other things took me longer, like when I told him to suck it up when his elbow hurt during baseball tryouts. The x-ray taken a week later showed an avulsion fracture. Each stage of his life has been an education for us.

[​IMG]

Now he is a college student and deciding on a major. He seems to be deciding between medicine and everything else. He's quiet and not an easy read, but it is clear he is torn. He is also at a school with a competitive student body, which adds an element of pressure. He's smart and, more importantly, hard-working. At home he earned the nickname the Grinder because of his work ethic. He's also calm under pressure. In many ways he seems like he would make an ideal physician. But it's not that easy because what I think he is suited for may not be what makes him happy.

I asked him what he wanted in a career. I'm not sure if “I want to make bank” was the first thing that came out of his mouth, but it was somewhere at the top. I assured him that many careers in medicine would allow him to live comfortably, but by no means would he live like the Wolf of Wall Street. Money alone is not enough incentive to get you through all those years of training. And getting through medical school leaves most students in significant debt before they are 30. I told him there was definitely another way if money were his top goal.