centered image

Electronic Medical Record Reminders Influence Treatment Decisions: Are They Always Right?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Oct 25, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

As a physician transitioning from hand-written patient charts to electronic medical records, I have observed the blooming of pop-up alerts prior to my completing each patient visit. These alerts remind me what I should do for my patients: age and gender appropriate screening tests and procedures, vaccinations, pain management suggestions, and prescription renewal reminders, to name a few. These reminders are a great support to caring physicians who find themselves fully engaged and preoccupied with managing other aspects of patient care.

I have always wondered who is behind these well-designed pop-up alerts built into many of the electronic medical record platforms used for patient care. And, as an inquisitive scientist, I always ask myself how solid the data are supporting the utility of these windows to patient outcomes. It is reasonable to believe that, at any given health care institution, experts from the information technology department work closely with the quality improvement office for the sole purpose of developing medical record strategies that improve patient outcomes. But the Purdue case may lead us to suspect otherwise.