centered image

Emergency Departments Need To Claim Their Role In The Social Safety Net

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Mar 1, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

A patient once told me, “I sit on the side of the road asking for change. People look right through me like I’m invisible. Food stamps aren’t enough. I can’t afford to exist and I want to die.” A man is dying of poverty — this is an emergency, but not one I have been trained to fix. I am an emergency medicine physician; I care for people on the worst days of their lives. I entered emergency medicine because I thought emergency rooms (ERs) were the great equalizer; emergencies happen to everyone. But that isn’t true. So many of our patients are experiencing what most of us would not consider a “medical emergency.” They go to the ER because they have nowhere else to go. And all I have to offer is a warm blanket and a turkey sandwich.

[​IMG]

Emergency rooms have been inundated by people struggling to breathe during this pandemic, but we will soon be seeing a new wave of emergencies: social and economic injuries. The economy has lost tens of millions of jobs. Homelessness is projected to increase by 40-45% this year due to the rise in unemployment and millions of people are newly experiencing food insecurity. COVID has laid bare vast inequity in our society and exposed the fragility of our social safety nets. Are we equipped for this “third wave?” Will ERs be able to help our country recover from this next national emergency or will they just exacerbate the disparities that have become painfully commonplace in America? To tackle this third wave will require a cultural shift in how ERs interact with their local environments.