centered image

Empathy Is What Separates Doctors From Computers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hadeel Abdelkariem, Jun 9, 2018.

1. Hadeel Abdelkariem

Hadeel Abdelkariem Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

The year was 1997, and I was an intern. I remember the morning vividly. Rounds had ended, the nurses had just started their shifts. The hospital was hustling. I felt a buzzing sound and looked down to see a page from my mother, then another and another. The frantic paging made my heart race and I wondered what could possibly be wrong. I ran to the nearest phone and heard my mother’s voice. She was crying. My grandmother had called her and she could not understand her. My mother panicked and called 911 worried she was having a stroke. My grandmother was 76 years old and suffered from a labile diabetes resulting in many visits to the hospital. I didn’t know what to say. I was post-call and exhausted. I explained to my attending what was happening and raced over to meet my mom at the hospital.

When I arrived, my grandmother was in a regular room with a blank stare and she wasn’t moving. My grandmother had had a stroke. I couldn’t believe it. I stared at her and with my limited medical knowledge couldn’t understand why she was in a regular room. Her chart even had an order for a regular diet! I remember thinking: A regular diet? She can’t talk! She can’t swallow! She needs to be in the ICU.

I was the first doctor in my family, and everyone was looking to me for answers. I was 25 and I was scared. Yes, I graduated from medical school but I didn’t really know how to manage a patient on my own … not really. Yet, I felt I owed my grandmother the care that she deserved and I demanded that the nurse page the doctor. Minutes later the nurse called me over to tell me the doctor was on the phone.