centered image

Even During A Global Pandemic, The Human Connection Remains Present

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Apr 13, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

As I drove into work this week, I felt the elephant standing on my chest with its heavy foot in the pit of my stomach. Amidst this current global pandemic due to COVID-19, I reminded myself to breathe. The idea of getting closer to the hospital made the adrenaline surge through my anxiety-ridden heart.

I think back to a time many years ago, when I was a pediatric resident, preparing to take my board exams. I remember someone jokingly telling me, “When in doubt, the answer is reassurance.” At that time, I don’t think I really appreciated the weight of what that word meant…reassurance.

I know now that behind the levity of that comment, lay reality. As pediatricians, we are trained to reassure. This is what we do every day. We know what to say, and we know how to say it. When parents come to us with their worries, our priority is to calm their fears and allow them to sleep at night. Instead, we, the pediatricians, lie awake at night for you, contemplating our decisions and thinking about your children.