centered image

centered image

Every Patient Is Someone’s Loved One

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Nov 14, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

It felt like watching a train go by with no control over its destination and no way to stop it. We simply had to watch our loved one as he made his way towards death.

The doctor said he had a traumatic brain injury with herniation. His pupils were fixed and dilated on arrival to the emergency department, which meant that he was not a candidate for any neurosurgical intervention. And that our lives would never be the same.

He had been playing on an ATV with his friends, wearing no seatbelt nor helmet at the time of the collision. Although he survived being transported to the hospital, the beginning of the realization that we would never talk with him, walk with him, hug him, or work with him ever again started to become clear.

[​IMG]

As an internal medicine physician, I recall having hard conversations with families when I needed to let them know that things were not going well with a patient. Over the course of a conversation, the dialogue with family members often revealed to me what information was standing out to them. I have often noticed people letting me know through their questions and comments that they had only grasped the encouraging parts of what I had told them.