centered image

Fear Paralysis In The World Of COVID-19

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Mar 22, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

As the United States faces enormous issues regarding the COVID-19 outbreak which has now impacted all 50 states, I would like to refer to a quote from Franklin D. Roosevelt: “Let me assert my firm belief that the only thing we have to fear is fear itself — nameless, unreasoning, unjustified terror which paralyzes needed efforts to convert retreat into advance.” This quote epitomizes a message that should also hold true today both nationally and within the health care system in the upcoming months.

As a hospitalist physician, I see an ever-increasing amount of fear not only among U.S. citizens, but also within our health care system. I believe that “fear paralysis” is a problem that is equal in scope to universally available testing, social distancing, and vaccine trials. Although testing and vaccine trials are a vital solution, they take time and don’t protect the health care system from being overloaded at its peak occupancy in-real time. Resolving fear paralysis and promoting social distancing can expedite relief on our already overstretched health care system and improve mortality rates. As a hospital doctor, I’m only a small part of the larger medical system which already had existing problems. Now is the time for all medical staff, politicians, and patients to work together to avoid medical travesties from occurring awhile desperately waiting for more supplies, staff, and solutions.