centered image

Finding Hope In The COVID-19 Pandemic

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, May 15, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I am a 41-year old physician in the Phoenix metropolitan area. In the course of several unforgettable weeks in March 2020, my life, like every American’s, had been drastically flipped on its head. While I feel fortunate to be able to continue to have employment and a source of income, I cannot deny there is a daily palpable sense that my profession puts me at a great risk for exposure to this potentially deadly virus. My commute to and from work, which was once consumed by thoughts of the procedures of the day, is now crowded with worries about my patients, empathy for the struggles of small businesses that I drive by and once took for granted, and concern for the health of my elderly parents. With the passage of time, I am even worried and frustrated about how a prolonged financial crisis may impact my own career. All of these fears much be all-to-familiar to the readers of this blog.

Yet, despite these innumerable overwhelming negative sentiments, I am beginning to wonder whether this great cataclysm we are dealing with provides us as a nation with inimitable lessons that we should not let pass.