centered image

centered image

Giving Up My Dream Of Becoming A Surgeon

Discussion in 'Medical Students Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, May 3, 2019.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

For as long as I can remember I wanted to become a doctor. My mum said she found an old diary of hers where I was just 3 years old saying I wanted to be a doctor when I grew up. I studied so hard in high school like all of your typical type A personalities, getting up at 5 am to study before school and doing every after school activity you can think of (not sports though, that definitely wasn’t my thing then). I thrived on trying to get top grades while still trying to navigate being a teenage girl in a girl power high school and having parents that were supportive but as a result of my own ideals had very high expectations of me.

[​IMG]

When I reached VCE, it was all or nothing. I put it all in. I felt like my whole life relied on me getting in to medicine. And lo and behold I didn’t. My world crashed, I was so low I couldn’t make any real decisions. I blamed everything else in my life for how I felt. I never thought about what opportunities could come out of the longer journey, only the negative. So I did my double degree in science and biomedical science like all good little pre med students do. I really didn’t enjoy it. I was yearning for the medical world and I felt my time was being wasted. I did have a year off to travel and re-evaluate but I was so one eyed about medicine nothing could stand in my way.