centered image

centered image

Gratitude For Doctors Risking Their Lives Treating Covid Patients

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mahmoud Abudeif, Jun 30, 2021.

1. Mahmoud Abudeif

Mahmoud Abudeif Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]

To the Editor:

As a retired physician, I read “A Covid Crucible for New Doctors,” by Emma Goldberg (Sunday Review, June 6), with great interest. These young men and women who were willing to graduate early and take on the Covid fight demonstrated extraordinary courage and selflessness.

Not all graduating medical students (given the “opportunity”) volunteered for this assignment, forgoing traditional celebrations and vacation that come between graduation and further medical training. We owe these young physicians a debt of gratitude that will be difficult to repay.

My hats off to them. They are true heroes.

Lloyd Alterman
    South Orange, N.J.

To the Editor:

Covid is but the latest infectious disease to plague our nation. In 1980 I was a third-year medical resident at Vanderbilt University Hospital in Nashville. There began appearing patients, mostly men, with fever, rash and weight loss. Our infectious diseases group was stumped.

Many more such patients arrived and began appearing all over the country. Most died. The illness, at first, was considered idiopathic, no known cause. Was it contagious? How was it transmitted? There were many more unanswered questions, and there we all were — nurses, therapists, aides, housekeepers, attending physicians, resident physicians — living with uncertainty. We were treating H.I.V./AIDS.

Surgeon Faced Death, but This Time as Patient” (front page, June 4):

Dr. Tomoaki Kato is to be congratulated on his recovery after his terrible experience with Covid, and for his candor about how it changed his view of his patients’ experience.