centered image

Having A Pet Might Boost Your Health

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by D. Sayed Morsy, Oct 26, 2020.

1. D. Sayed Morsy

D. Sayed Morsy Bronze Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]
    My 7-year-old had his heart set on getting a pet for his birthday. After changing his mind several times about what type of pet (dog, gerbil, and snake (!) were all considered), he finally settled on a fish (thank goodness). He is now the proud caregiver of one colorful and beautiful twin-tail half-moon betta fish, named “Betta-7.”

As a physician, I don’t often talk to patients about pets, but seeing my son’s delight with Betta-7 makes me think that maybe I should. I write a lot of prescriptions for medicines to help keep people healthy, and I counsel people about healthy eating and the need for physical activity. Yet, I rarely, if ever, talk about one of the best ways to improve your health – getting a pet.

Research shows that pets can improve our health and increase quality of life. Interacting with pets may reduce cortisol – a hormone that increases stress. As a result, it can improve blood pressure, which lowers risk of heart attack and stroke. Some data suggest that petting an animal can reduce heart rate, which can be calming.

Bonding with a pet is known to combat loneliness and depression. Loneliness plays a major role in overall health and represents a risk factor for Alzheimer’s disease. Pets might also promote social interaction. For instance, don’t we all talk to strangers, when walking a dog? And doesn’t everyone share their favorite cat stories? Studies have shown the human-animal bond can release the hormone oxytocin, which promotes feelings of love and well-being. And it goes both ways – for the pet and you!