centered image

centered image

Health Insurance In This Country Leaves A Lot To Be Desired

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Apr 14, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

I was an ICU nurse for 17 years, and it was during my last two years of my career when I was diagnosed with lung cancer.

Going into and out of the hospital for my chemo sessions. Going into and out of the clinic for my follow-up appointments with my oncologist was the most harrowing times of my life.

At this moment, I realized that my own health insurance refused to pay for parts of my care.

I didn’t have the money to hire a lawyer, so the legal team at the hospital I was getting treatment stepped in. They fought the insurance company. And they won.

[​IMG]

All of my care was covered, and I got better. But it was a hard-fought battle and back-and-forth.

This story is one of the millions. Health insurance in this country leaves a lot to be desired.

You are living without health insurance because you can’t afford the premiums? Scared for your life when you fall ill? You’re not alone.

Insurance companies denying children mental health access? It’s happening.

You have insurance but still find yourself paying hundreds of dollars for your insulin? Diabetics nationwide feel your pain.

You need a medication, and your plan covers it, but you need to somehow pay your $2000 deductible out of pocket before coverage kicks in?

Suddenly found out your PCP no longer accepts your health insurance while you were waiting for your appointment? Tough luck.