centered image

How Dare You, America

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Apr 7, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I grew up with one guiding principle. One religion. One stone temple that I bowed to faithfully. I kneeled at the glorious shrine of medicine. It was the only thing I ever wanted to do with my life.

My education was vigorous. I stayed at home and studied while my high school buddies were goofing around at the mall. I spent quiet Saturday mornings in the law library while over a hundred thousand of my fellow students, neighbors, and out of state fans cheered on my college football team.

I devoted almost every second of my time and hundreds of thousands of dollars between the ages of 22 and 29 to become the thing I admired most in life—a doctor.

What were you doing on September 11th, 2001? I was a third-year resident battling death and destruction every day in the bone marrow transplant unit. I was watching people die helplessly in front of my eyes as my blood-soaked hands broke their ribs while trying to perform cardiopulmonary resuscitation on their leukemia riddled bodies.

Medicine took everything I had. It turned the comedic, optimistic, and empathic young person and stole my innocence, my humor, and many times my humanity.

The person spit out from this educational system was markedly different. Melancholy, hardened, and stoic. I accepted these things that have never escaped my notice. The cost of service is great. The calling is just that: a calling.

Someone has to do it.

Over the last two decades as an attending physician, I have become disillusioned with medicine. The pure goodness and joy that I dreamed about as a child were still there, but progressively extinguished by a broken, accusatory, and often unnecessarily bureaucratic and self-serving system.