centered image

centered image

How Depression Made this Doctor a Better Physician

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Hadeel Abdelkariem, Jun 12, 2019.

1. Hadeel Abdelkariem

Hadeel Abdelkariem Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Residing in all of us, whether or not we feel it, is an innate zest for life. As a family medicine resident, I live with enthusiasm daily, because I am happy seeing patients, no matter my rotation. From the acute care wards to the family medicine clinic, I enjoy and relish the opportunities to sit with patients. Unfortunately, this zest for life was once lost on me, and at times in residency, it can be challenging to maintain.

[​IMG]

Given the difficult working conditions and systemic pressures in the culture of medicine, it should come as no surprise that so many physicians, including myself, suffer or have suffered from mental illness. It is well documented that rates of burnout and depression are exceedingly high in our field. This started for me in first year of medical school. I took on an unhealthy amount of extracurricular activities, neglecting my own health, feeling inadequate relative to my peers, and trying to quell the fear of failing by studying endlessly. I crawled to the end of first year, not understanding what was happening to my body and mind. I lost 30 pounds, and progressively distanced myself from everyone. By mid-summer, I was in a full-blown episode of severe depression. My sadness morphed to numbness; the contrast to my former self was stark and perhaps would have been more shocking had I not felt so devoid of emotion. I was in immense pain and even contemplated taking my own life. I blamed medical school for what was transpiring and yet couldn’t bear not to go back for second year. I couldn’t just give up my dream that I had worked so hard for! I went back and lasted less than a month.