centered image

How Divorce Helped This Physician

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Feb 2, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

I got married the day after I graduated from medical school to someone I thought I’d spend the rest of my life with. Seven years later, we were divorced.

Even though a high percentage of marriages end in divorce, there is still a stigma that many of us who divorce feel. I had already completed residency and was an attending by the time I got divorced, and I remember feeling so embarrassed. What started out as a beautiful promise ended with him cheating and wanting out. I am a physician, so I am not used to failing at anything. My story may be similar to many of yours, and I want to tell you that it does get better.

[​IMG]

When I got divorced, I was embarrassed that my marriage had failed, and I made it mean all kinds of things. I initially didn’t tell my coworkers that I was going through a divorce, and I hid it for fear of what they would think. I didn’t want them to believe that it would affect my ability to care for patients, and I didn’t want to deal with the whispers of my colleagues.

That time of my life was filled with heartache, loss, and shame. I had so many thoughts. How could I be a successful doctor, yet be unable to keep my marriage together? If I hadn’t been on call so many nights during training, would he still have cheated? Was my desire to choose a demanding career like medicine to blame for my divorce?

I think this is such an important discussion for physicians to have. When we get divorced, and especially if our spouse cheats on us, we often make it mean something about us. We may think we or our career somehow caused or contributed to the divorce.