centered image

centered image

How Food Can Improve Your Mood

Discussion in 'Dietetics' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Feb 15, 2017.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

5649206563a0991190cb17142c77084c.jpg

Eat Wisely—Choose Foods That Boost Mood and Vitality

I have a history of depression, though thankfully I haven't had an episode in almost ten years. I turned my mood around by making major changes in my personal and professional life, and will tell you more about that in another post.

I'm a practicing medical doctor (GP) with a degree in Dietetics, and am fascinated by the potential for certain foods and simple wellness practices to prevent and treat major medical conditions or diseases. I've written for years about the ability of food to protect and boost your mood, though in some cases of depression anti-depressant medications might still be necessary. That said, understanding the relationship between food and mood can help increase the effectiveness of anti-depressant medications, and may also help prevent relapse.

I protect myself from recurrent depression and deliberately "feed" my daily mood by following the following dietary rules for a good mood:

1) Eat Breakfast & Eat Regularly

Have you ever been in a terrible mood, only to realize that you haven't eaten in hours? If I skip a meal (which occasionally happens, if I'm really busy or really focused on a task), I'll get really irritable and even weepy, and wonder what's wrong with me—until I realize that I haven't eaten! As soon as I sit down and eat something solid, the bad mood disappears. Eating a balanced breakfast and making a point to eat regularly (don't ever let yourself get too hungry), will keep your blood sugar and mood stable.

2) Eat Enough Protein