centered image

How Good Of A Clinician Are You?

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Egyptian Doctor, Sep 24, 2015.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

6a08ae80ae9e63d6c326dad67fb826e1.jpg
    In psychology, the Lake Wobegon effect refers to a mythical town where “all the women are strong, all the men are good-looking, and all the children are above average.” In other words, humans have a tendency to overestimate their capabilities, particularly in relation to others.

As a physician, I have yet to meet a fellow doc who didn’t think that their patients loved them or that they weren’t great clinicians. And I’m no different — as a new attending, part of the reason I couldn’t wait to finish residency was my belief that I was ready to provide high-quality, cost-effective, and compassionate care — at times, maybe even better than my supervisors.

But in my first weeks as the official attending of record, I’ve found myself wondering — just how good of a clinician am I? It’s not mathematically possible for every doctor to be above average. And moreover, it’s not realistic to think that I’m excellent across every dimension of clinical practice, I’m bound to have certain strengths and weaknesses.

I’m not alone in having limited insight into my own performance. In a study, physicians were asked to solve four clinical vignettes, two designed to be easy and two difficult, and then self-rate their confidence. Despite the fact that 55 percent of clinicians got the diagnosis correct on the easy cases, and only 6 percent on the difficult ones, their self-confidence on the two sets were nearly identical.