centered image

centered image

How Medical Training Teaches Doctors To Be Financially Unhealthy

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Sep 2, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

I recently unearthed all my pay stubs from residency, including the first one — all $89.14 of it.

When I received that check, I had just moved across the country after a grueling internship in Philadelphia, which left me physically and emotionally exhausted.

I was staying in a motel, which I paid for with a credit card because I used my last paycheck from internship to pay for moving across the country. My landlord in Philadelphia hadn’t yet refunded my security deposit, so I couldn’t put down a deposit on a new apartment.

I had no money and no place to live. Not because I’d done something extravagant or reckless with my money, but because that’s the way medical training is structured. Financial insecurity is part of the process.

I was a gainfully employed physician, but I was dead broke.

[​IMG]

It wasn’t until toward the end of my first month of residency that I finally got a real paycheck. It just barely covered my first month’s rent. I know this because I also unearthed my rental agreement. As a resident, I spent 50 percent of my income on rent. Even though I rented an apartment in a University-owned complex specifically designated for residents, it wasn’t actually affordable for residents, at least according to prudent financial standards.

On top of all of that, there were my student loans. Yes, I deferred them. But I was acutely aware that each month I didn’t make a loan payment. In effect, I was borrowing more money.