centered image

How PCPs Can Leverage Better Coding To Succeed In Value-Based Care

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Nov 16, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

Over the last decade, as health care solutions have become more specialized and fragmented, primary care physicians (PCPs) have frequently been cut out of the loop, particularly in coding initiatives. Retrospective and in-home risk assessment solutions work around PCPs. This dynamic further complicates PCPs’ ability to thrive in value-based care, which hinges on primary care being underscored.

PCPs can take back control of care and accelerate their own transition to and success in value-based care through active participation in health plan-sponsored coding and documentation initiatives.

Why current approaches to coding and documentation don’t work

When I was a practicing cardiothoracic surgeon, I attended a health care conference at which I heard the CEO of a home assessment company tell an audience of health plans and providers that physicians could not complete the coding and documentation required for risk adjustment. With that assumption, he concluded that his organization and other home assessment companies were the best choice for Medicare Advantage organizations to hire to collect the codes, and the associated revenue.

I was angered at hearing this. How could an unqualified provider with very little knowledge of a patient’s medical history accurately diagnose and provide a treatment plan? I immediately went to research everything I could on Medicare risk adjustment and the Medicare Advantage industry. And, as it turns out, CMS had the same question I did. These approaches often focus on collecting codes and not providing comprehensive treatment—a major impediment to value-based care success.