centered image

How To Work From Home And Not Lose It

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, May 18, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

Your alarm may still go off at the same time, but I’ll bet what happens next is not the same as it was back in February. There is no denying our daily lives have been turned upside down in both stressful and heartwarming ways. While recent stories have made headlines of news anchors in boxers while they are giving an interview, we all have our dirty little video conference secrets. Did you shower that morning? In the last two mornings? What about your bunny slippers? Are they still a thing? The kids are parading through your video conference (because snack time waits for no person), the dog and cat are video bombing your meetings; the world has gone in a direction none of us were quite prepared for. Now, add a dash of work-life-now I’m a homeschool teacher-balance, and what you have is a potential recipe for a real family crisis. But that doesn’t have to be the case.

From a social perspective, we are spending a lot of quality time with our families. Maybe this is something you struggled with in the speed drill that used to be our “normal.” This is actually a really good thing, or at least it can be. I know we are all trying to find the new normal, but one adjustment we need to make is, relax. Yes, you have your deadlines still. Yes, you are now teaching grade school math (and boy they don’t teach it like they used to), while designing random art projects, somehow being a music teacher, writing … and you get the point. Yes, I am still telling you to relax. The deadlines will be met, and the kids will learn. However, make sure it’s happening in a way that is working for you.