centered image

centered image

I Am A Doctor. Here's What I Know About Communicating With Reluctant Patients

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Mahmoud Abudeif, Feb 12, 2021.

1. Mahmoud Abudeif

Mahmoud Abudeif Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

“I guess I will see what my iridologist thinks.”

[​IMG]

With this verbal equivalent of a sucker punch, my patient reduced 15 years of medical training to a duel between medicine and quackery.

The young woman had worsening symptoms from an ignored cancer and now, neared a complication that worried the surgeon who wished to avoid an emergency. I introduced myself and carefully described what lay ahead: some challenging months for a high chance of cure. She asked a lot of questions and I answered them all. Then she closed her notebook and with it, her mind to medical advice. A year later, she came to hospice to die.

Iridologists purport that colour changes in the iris detect underlying disease. It has zero scientific basis in cancer management, yet it doesn’t stop patients from falling prey to disinformation about this and other alternative therapies. Indeed, the more outlandish the suggestion, the greater its attraction.

I recalled the encounter when someone who vaguely claims to work “in health” observed: “You know, this virus thing is a conspiracy.” I waited for the smile; instead, there was animated mention of waves and chips. Later, someone else expressed surprise that an educated person would harbour that view, but years of being an oncologist have taught me that the correlation between a good education and belief systems is not as robust as one might like. All kinds of people are prone to believing and peddling misinformation, whether about cancer, coronavirus or climate change.