centered image

I Am A Physician And I Am Not Your Enemy

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Apr 4, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

When I was 18, I decided I wanted to be a doctor. I wanted to help people. I wanted to make things better for others. So, I studied hard in college. I couldn’t afford to pay for test prep classes for the medical school entrance exam, so I studied on my own. I would lock myself in my room and study for six to eight hours at a time for weeks in preparation for the exam. My roommates thought I was crazy as they enjoyed their nights and weekends being college students. My hard work paid off, and I did well enough on my first try to get into the medical school that I aspired to attend. I studied hard in medical school. I was amongst the brightest of the bright and boy, were they impressive. I learned much about medicine and life in those four years. Then I worked my way through residency. It was tough. Residency demanded of me physically, mentally, and emotionally more than anything else I had ever done.

I got my first job in private practice after residency, and I worked tirelessly. I worked 80 to 90 hours a week. I worked early mornings; I worked late at night; I worked all night; I worked 72 hours straight; I didn’t take vacations; I didn’t see my husband; I delayed starting a family. My physical and mental endurance was constantly tested. My emotional resolve was tested. Yet, I showed up every day to help, to try to make life better for someone else.