centered image

I am A Physician, And I am Scared

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Mar 29, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I am a physician, and I am scared. I am scared for my patients, my friends, my family, and most of all, I am scared for my colleagues. As an oncologist, I am not someone yet on the frontlines treating patients acutely diagnosed with COVID-19, although when the call for all hands-on deck comes, I will answer. Such is the nature of our profession. But no one told us in medical school that answering the call to take care of patients would require risking our own lives due to lack of protective gear.

In medical school, when deciding on the specialties, we would eventually choose to enter, thoughts of global pandemics, and putting our own lives at risk was not taken into consideration. Medical school does not prepare you for the possibility of needing to make decisions that put ourselves intentionally in harm’s way. The foundation of our profession is professionalism, putting the patient first, at any cost. With the current pandemic and severe lack of personal protective equipment (PPE) across the nation, many physicians and health care workers are being forced to make decisions many times a day that put themselves directly in the way of danger in order to treat others.