centered image

I Am A Physician, And I Will Heal When I Can, But I Will Always Provide Hope

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Apr 17, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I don my PPE in the hallway, while the patient is watching the increased commotion outside of their room. They see me enter their room, introduce myself, and then position myself behind their bed. They are covered with a plastic wrap or an intubation box to protect us from their cough and secretions. They feel a burning sensation in their arm as propofol enters, while the nurse is holding it, so they don’t flail. And then their world goes dark. All in under 10 minutes.

I refuse to continue to function like an emotionless automaton.

After doing numerous intubations in the ICU over the past month, I came to one stark realization that my face is the last face that many of those people will see. And it’s not even my face; it’s my eyes, hidden behind a shield, wrapped in a gown, with a mask over my mouth and nose. I can’t help but feel that I’m the Grim Ripper. Once I show up, their eyes close. No last words to a loved one. No wishes expressed. Just the fear of the end. It’s a familiar sight that I’ve seen many times before, but never has it been so palpable and so pervasive.