centered image

centered image

I Am An Emergency Medicine Physician. I Had COVID-19 Infection Twice And I’m Tired.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Nov 22, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

I am a critical care and emergency medicine physician, I have had COVID-19 infection twice, and I’m tired.

My first infection was early on in the pandemic. I had to place a Blakemore tube in a young man who was going to die from his massive bleeding from cirrhosis. I didn’t know then that the patient was positive for COVID, as he didn’t have any “typical” symptoms. I placed the tube and got him transferred to another facility, and am proud to say this patient lived. However, 5 days later, I came down with COVID. It was awful. My joints hurt more than I had ever experienced before. It was like someone was trying to break them from the inside out. I had trouble breathing and could actually feel my throat and airways swollen. The fatigue and terrible headaches had me down for days. I have migraines normally, but this was something much different. My food didn’t smell or taste like it normally did. My daily decisions were weighing how important it was to get up to go to the bathroom as this took so much energy to do so. Simple tasks would often lead me to take a nap. Fortunately, I recovered, and because I was quarantined away from my family, my infant daughter and husband were spared.