centered image

I Am An Emergency Physician. I Risk My Life For The Future Of Our World.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Mar 31, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I am a frontline health care worker. I am an emergency physician. I am also a mother to two glorious, growing, miraculous children and wife to a handsome triathlete stay at home dad. Additionally, I am one of three daughters to a pair of still practicing exceptional pediatricians in their late 70s, and sister to two strong, beautiful women. I am also a severe asthmatic only well controlled by puffers and a medication that can compromise my immune system.

And now, I am one of the hundreds of thousands of physicians trying to stand between a monster of a virus, and the citizens of the worlds’ countries who are vulnerable to its fangs.

The people I work with are heroes; doctors, residents, nurses, orderlies, X-ray technicians, unit agents, registration clerks, security guards, respiratory therapists, and so many more. They come to work each and every day with fear in their hearts but passion in their souls, and devote themselves to caring for patients. In the background, the defenses are being laid by remarkable people who have been working day and night preparing protocols, simulations, and contingency plans for us all to fall back on when the enemy breaches the gates.

And that enemy is coming for us, quickly.

Going to work in my hospital used to be pleasant. We worked hard, because we had the highest volume of patients in the surrounding regions yet flow was exceptional due to the intense devotion of our group. The social banter was always there, smiles and jokes all around. We were a family. We still are.