centered image

I Am Tired Of The Racism That Remains Embedded In Our Culture

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Jan 15, 2022.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

A 2012 letter to Mr. Leonard Pitts, a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist.

I am not sure why I feel so compelled to write you. You probably will not even see this email, but I still must do so. I am a 56-year-old Christian white male physician living in North Carolina. I am a graduate of the United States Military Academy at West Point and the University of Alabama School of Medicine. I was raised an “Army brat” as my father was a career infantry officer who served two combat tours in Vietnam. I am a veteran of the First Gulf War as well.

I come from a conservative and deeply Southern background. My mother’s family was originally from the mountains of North Georgia and my father’s family was from rural Mississippi. My ancestors fought for the Confederacy. I was raised by a loving and caring family, but one very much part of the prejudices of the times. Thus, I spent my earliest years exposed to an environment of racism. I am a product of the Jim Crow era.

[​IMG]

I have read your column in the local newspaper for many years and, to be honest, I either cursed you for what you wrote or cried as I recognized the truth of your words. Many times, I did not want to read your articles because I knew they would only make me mad, but I did. Why? Because your words pierce my heart as if they were a scalpel surgically cutting out the residual hatred, racism, and prejudice that still lay deep within. So, I continue to read you and I read you, again, yesterday, and I knew I needed to write because … I don’t know how to put it, I just needed to write you.