centered image

I Graduated Medical School While Sitting In The Parking Lot

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, May 9, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

My phone chimed. I received an email stating that rotations were canceled, so I had effectively graduated medical school while sitting in the parking lot of my local grocery store. It felt like a natural end to an isolating day. That morning, the cherry blossoms were in full bloom. The streetlights shone against the budding trees and reflected an orange luminosity that refracted against the dewdrops condensed from the previous night’s rain. I tucked my nose deeper into my coat, the air still sharply biting at my cheeks, and ran to the car with the reward of heated seats.

My car groaned to a start, as if it was telling me good morning. The streets and highways were empty, and my car droned silently on through the cold, dark, and wet morning. The badge reader at the gate to the parking garage produced its all-too-familiar sound, and I parked in my usual spot. The garage was eerily silent, with the only sign of human presence being the echoes of my falling footsteps and the metallic rattling of car keys. I walked quickly through the entrance and quickly glanced at the waiting room to glean an idea for what the day would be like. My eyes scanned the room in less than a second, and I knew the day would move quickly. I hesitated, asking myself if this would be the day I would finally get sick.