centered image

I Have Been Thinking A Lot About Dr. Lorna Breen

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, May 21, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

Dr. Lorna Breen, an ER physician in New York City, killed herself after working the front lines in the pandemic. Her death has created a call to action. The headlines read that healthcare workers are suffering; they are heroes; they need support. Dr. Lorna Breen was 49 years old. I am 49 years old. I am also a successful ER physician on the front lines of the pandemic. I can’t speak to Dr. Breen’s experience. But I can tell you mine.

Most of us who work in the ER signed up to work with the most emotionally challenging patients in medicine because we “fill our buckets” by connecting with people in the most difficult moments of their lives. We are the cops of medicine. We take care of the homeless, drug addicts, car wrecks, cancer patients, heart attacks, the dying. We love it. We are a unique bunch. We are achievers, A + students; we get the job done, weekends, holidays, overnights. But we are also the healthcare workers that need to achieve the most outside of work because we are constantly humbled by what we cannot do in our professional lives. We cannot fix that the mother we “heroically” resuscitated after her car accident may never recover from the deaths of her two children who we could not save. We cannot fix that the child we “saved” from drowning will need 24-hour care for the rest of her life. We cope by holding the mother’s hand of a dying child. We cope by talking a family through a parent’s death. We cope by knowing that by being fully present, by really seeing and acknowledging our patients and their family’s pain, what we do matters. But this is different.