centered image

centered image

I Was A Doctor Prone To Fainting. This Is How I Got Over It

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Jan 19, 2018.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Like 12% of medical students, the graphic sights of the operating theatre caused me to faint. But slowly, after many queasy incidents, I learned how to cope

[​IMG]

Medicine is great, but it involves pain, pus and blood. For some, seeing those things is a problem. When I started medical school, I was worried. Before applying, I had spent a night in the local casualty department as work experience. I watched a junior doctor try to prise a splinter from a young woman’s hand. It was hurting her, and she kept yelping. The doctor got irritated and said the anaesthetic “should be working by now”. He kept digging into her hand with a scalpel tip; she started to cry. I felt lightheaded, my skin went cold, I moved my legs to keep the blood flowing, but seconds later I fainted.

They put me on a trolley, checked my blood glucose, and the same doctor explained that only “an insulinoma” could explain such low sugar readings. I got home, looked it up (a tumour of the pancreas), and for several months assumed there was something growing within me. There wasn’t. But the experience had planted a doubt. Was I really cut out for this?

Fainting is a common problem for medical students. A study in 2009 showed that of 630 students, 77 (12%) said they had fainted or come close to fainting in an operating theatre. Half of these were interested in becoming surgeons, and a significant proportion were put off from pursuing that specialty by their experience. The students reported being adversely affected by ambient heat, the smell of burning flesh, wearing a mask, having to stand for long periods, and menstruation.