centered image

Illness In Doctors: A Source Of Expertise, Not A Sign Of Weakness

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Jul 3, 2017.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]

I’ve been a medical student for the past three years and a cancer patient for nearly a decade. It’s harder than you think to be both at the same time.

As a student, I hear classmates boast about how many days it’s been since they last slept and how much junk food they eat to stay nourished. I’m expected to put in long hours, and show I’m keen by staying late even after my shift in the hospital has ended. After enough displays of conspicuous self-neglect, I’ll have earned my stripes. As a patient, though, I’m supposed to prioritize my health and pay attention to getting enough sleep, eating healthy food, and exercising. I’m responsible for doing my best to stay well because it’s what health care providers like me expect of our patients.

A 1997 study revealed a widely held belief among physicians: Illness isn’t appropriate among doctors. The two authors conducted in-depth interviews with of 64 British physicians, all of whom had experienced mental or physical illnesses themselves while in clinical training or practice. As one participant explained, “Illness doesn’t belong to us. It belongs to them, the patients.”