centered image

I’m A Doctor. And I Love What I Do.

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by dr.omarislam, Sep 27, 2017.

1. dr.omarislam

dr.omarislam Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]

OK, I’ll admit it. I’m a doctor

“I work at a hospital.”

Those words had left my mouth a hundred times before, and yet on this late summer day, I paused to actually think about them. Why I was saying them, what I really meant, and what I should have said instead.

I was making conversation with someone I had just met. The inevitable question, “So, what do you do?” was asked, and I said the thing so many of us say: “Oh, I work at a hospital.”

It’s true, I do work at a hospital. But that’s not what I really do. What I do is take care of sick and sometimes dying children, as a pediatric hospital medicine physician. I work long nights, busy weekends, and even busier weekdays taking care of other people’s children: making them well, helping them hope, thinking and rethinking their care so that we get the best outcome.

And here’s the secret: I love it. I love what I do. Most days, no matter how crazy, I stop to think: I’m so, so lucky to do this job. And I’m proud. I’m proud of the more-than-a-decade of years that I spent learning to be someone whom parents entrust with the care of their ill children. I’m proud of all the nights I spent studying when friends were out having fun. I’m proud of the tests that I quietly aced, not saying anything when my medical school boyfriend bragged about his scores (not quite as good as mine, sometimes). I’m proud of the years during residency that I sacrificed my personal well-being so I could make sure that every patient I saw got the very, very best of me. So why didn’t I say any of that? Why didn’t I say the one, tiny little sentence that I shouldn’t even think twice about?