centered image

I’m A Doctor In A Family Of COVID Deniers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, May 26, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I am the only physician in a family of farmers. As I witness the pandemic’s devastating health consequences from the frontlines, I feel a fundamental responsibility to share my experience and advice with my loved ones to keep them safe. However, I find myself battling COVID-denial propaganda at every turn. Even my years of medical training have not endowed me with the credibility necessary to break down the sociopolitical barriers that separate my family and me on this life-and-death issue.

Growing up on a farm in South Dakota, I spent my childhood doing chores, playing sports, and going to church. The ideals my rural hometown cherishes – a strong faith, a sturdy work ethic, and a reverence for constitutionalized personal freedoms – were instilled in me from before I could walk. And yet, while those around me seemed content, I felt restless. I longed for the excitement of living in a big city, surrounded by people with vastly different life experiences in comparison to my own.