centered image

centered image

I’m a Fourth-Year Medical Student. I Don’t Want To Graduate Early.

Discussion in 'Medical Students Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Apr 17, 2020.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Medical students who are a few weeks from graduation want to help out during these tough times. But deploying to the front lines during the COVID-19 pandemic could have serious implications for our mental health and long-term careers, one student argues.

[​IMG]

Fourth-year University of Colorado medical student Erin Aldag delivers donated meals to UCHealth doctors and nurses before the night shift one day last week.

In New York, Massachusetts, Oregon, and elsewhere, fourth-year medical students are graduating early to help fight the pandemic. We need more physical bodies to help with the overwhelming number of patients with COVID-19, and those of us who are soon to be first-year interns have the knowledge to step in to help care for lower acuity patients in order to take some of the burden off more senior providers. None of us are arguing that we cannot help out. But the unspoken truth is that fourth-year medical students are worried, not just about the next few months, but about what this means for the rest of our careers.